BBC Sound of 2012 List Revealed

It’s that time of the year again where music critics reflect on the broken crockery of has been’s in the music industry to the never were’s. Then there is of course the clamor to proclaim the next best thing since sliced bread. The shortlist for the BBC Sound of 2012 has been revealed as follows:

  • A$AP Rocky
  • Azealia Banks
  • Dot Rotten
  • Dry The River
  • Flux Pavilion
  • Frank Ocean
  • Friends
  • Jamie N Commons
  • Lianne La Havas
  • Michael Kiwanuka
  • Niki & The Dove
  • Ren Harvieu
  • Skrillex
  • Spector
  • Stooshe

To be honest I haven’t been keeping tabs on any of the aforementioned artists, so I don’t know what to think of the shortlist. But the one thing to remember about the Sound of… poll is that it tends to lose perspective. As critics are too focused on a few acts that those that actually go onto succeed, go unnoticed until they hit them in the face. Take La Roux for example, she had been bubbling under the surface, but all the talk was of Little Boots. Then slowly ‘In For The Kill’ climbed the charts, breaking into the top three, leaving Radio 1 red faced when they completely missed play listing the song.

Usually there is a lot of hype and over the past few years winners have struggled to live up to the hype, Ellie Goulding faded as did Little Boots. Jessie J is still having her moment in the sun, but will her star be shining as brightly in 12 months time?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: